Don’t You Think We Should Have Learned Somehow?

John Mayer: Slow Dancing in a Burning Room

John Mayer

John Mayer is pretty controversial these days. The tabloids and press are continually following him about his latest hookups and there have been some controversial statements posted on his Twitter; My fellow Internet Communications colleague Maddison has even dedicated her blog to persuade John Mayer to apologize to women everywhere. But something that the media doesn’t focus on in regards to John is the fact that he is a VH1 Save the Music Ambassador.

What does this mean? Simply put, he is advocating to provide and develop long-term musical education programs for students everywhere, regardless of the financial situation. This includes “funding certified music teachers’ salaries, providing maintenance and supplies, and scheduling instrumental music classes during the school day.”

Quite possibly the biggest barrier we have that is keeping us from providing music education to our students is the looming reality of budget cuts. Luckily, there is a possible solution: working with VH1 Save the Music Foundation to ensure that our students have a wholesome and complete education. The children from sixth to ninth grade are indirectly suffering from the lack of musical instruments and education in their lives, and we have the chance to not only teach them about music, but show them how important it truly is.

VH1 isn’t the only company to advocate for music education: The National Association for Music Education has declared March as “Music in our Schools March (MIOSM)”–in other words, March is the time to raise awareness about the importance of music education. Artists such as Pat Benatar, Harry Connick, Jr., BoysII Men and Tim McGraw attended MIOSM to encourage school music programs and create PSAs for the cause. With such powerful advocates and testimonials, I can only hope that we can bring music into the middle school and high school era of our students’ lives.

Dr. Amalia Cudeiro, I understand that budget cuts are extremely difficult to work around. I understand that there are a multitude of other extracurriculars that are equally yearning for your attention. But VH1, the National Association for Music Education and I, a Bellevue School District alum and music enthusiast, all have valid proof that music needs to be required in the school curriculum and deserves to be spared in budget cuts.


4 Comments on “Don’t You Think We Should Have Learned Somehow?”

  1. sarahshulman says:

    Amanda-
    I love reading your blog. I learn so muck about music with every comment and it makes me want to ensure that music is in every school no matter the financial situation. I agree with the statements you made about John Mayer and how he is a celebrity with drama, but also a true believer in giving everybody the right to have music in their education. I did not know about his title as a VH1 Save the Music Ambassador, which is a huge position and he has a lot of power with that. I am a firm believer of your topic. Along with that, do you think that a music course should be required in the GE’s of college programs? Just a thought. Good luck with everyday and I am on your side!

    -Sarah Shulman

    http://thatssoogay.wordpress.com/

  2. ppl4peace says:

    Amanda this is amazing ! I love the layout of your blog. You have provided us with so much good information and sources,examples, and media to back it up. I love that you incorporated songs in all of your posts, genius ! I think this is a great cause. Two of my sisters are currently enrolled in PPA a preforming arts school in NY and I can see how well developed and insightful they have become because of the arts. It is so important that our youth become engaged in music and the arts, it puts them at a higher advantage and helps our societies culture. I am in love with this idea and I hope that you can make this happen in the Bellevue School District. Good Luck

    Danielle D.
    http://iammuslimerican.wordpress.com/

  3. Amanda,

    My favorite part of reading this post had to be turning on “Slow Dancing In A Burning Room” and allowing the music to set an ambience for me as a reader. Attaching an auditory tool that can be accessed while reading is an extremely clever way to remind people what this blog is all about: the power of music. How could I not be inspired to support a cause that would help create more musicians like John Mayer? Regardless of the personal opinions I have about his treatment of women and style of music, it is undeniable that Mayer is a talented artist and that music education played a crucial role in the development of his craft. I appreciate the layout and clarity of your blog as well as the tie-back to your change agent. Your message is evident and your passion is strong. Keep fighting the good fight for artists everywhere.

    Thank you for sounding off about a very important issue,
    Jamie

    http://jamienicoledonovan.wordpress.com/

  4. kateeglen says:

    I love your topic!! I played an instrument all through high school and in elementary school. In my hometown, the music program was a BFD. For two years there were rumors that the district was going to cut the program which cause panic. Since my brother went through the program I was devastated that I might not be able to follow in his footsteps. I hope that you achieve your goal!!


Leave a comment